Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Adoption Books and Spotting
Wednesday, Jun. 23, 2004 @ 10:25 a.m.

I forgot to write earlier about last Saturday. My husband and I went to our favorite Christian bookstore. The previous two times we have gone there I have bought books about infertility. This time I looked and found two books dealing with infertility. One was a book on how to cope, and the other dealt mainly with the medical aspects. The first book looked really good, written by a Christian couple who now are head of a Christian infertility support organization and have adopted children.

Not too long ago my husband realized that the husband of this couple has actually been in our house. A few years ago my brother came to visit us at Thanksgiving during break from college. He brought a couple other students who were going the same direction. One was to be dropped off, and the other was going to be picked up at my house. Early in the morning a father arrived to pick up his son. My brother hadn't arrived yet. My husband saw the father sitting in his car in the driveway and invited him to have some coffee and wait inside. My husband chatted with him for a half an hour before my brother arrived with this man's. Recently my husband saw this man's picture in an infertility newsletter. He recognized him and remembered his last name and made the connection. Who knew that a couple years later we would be getting this man's newsletter and I would almost buy his book?

Anyway, after looking at the infertility books realized that I really didn't need anymore on that topic. I feel like I am nearing the end of the infertility road. It will always be there, but I won't need to deal with it so much. It won't be such a big part of my everyday life. I decided that I would bypass the infertility books this time, and read one of my books at home if I needed inspiration.

I looked to see if I could find some books on adoption. One was a true story of adoption from China and the other was a general fact book about adoption. I didn't feel the time was right to purchase them.

One of the first things I found in the bookstore was when I was browsing in the children's area. I found a shelf with an adoption section. There I found two wonderful books that I'd like to keep in mind if I adopt one day. I took a pencil and pad of paper out of my purse and wrote down the titles and authors so I wouldn't forget them. One book is called "Adopted and Loved Forever" by Annetta E. Dellinger. It is about a little Asian girl adopted by Caucasian parents. What I really liked about it was that it was written from a Christian perspective. In the story the adopted girl tells her story in a very factual way. I didn't read the whole thing, but what I did read, brought tears to my eyes.

The other book was much simpler in its content. It's entitled "A Mother for Choco", written by Keiko Kasza. The bookstore had board book and hardback editions. It tells the story of a little bird in search of a mother. She eventually finds love and a home with Mrs. Bear. It's has very colorful illustrations and is a very cute little story.

Now, this cycle, well, it is pretty much over. I'm a bit sad, but not upset. When I got up yesterday morning, the spotting had already started. Now my temperatures are getting low, so there really isn't any more hope for this cycle. I'll have to call the doctor in the next couple of days and get the next screening ultrasound scheduled so the next round of medications can begin.

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers