Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
A Potential Birthmother
Thursday, Mar. 17, 2005 @ 5:47 p.m.

Just when I thought things were getting dull on the adoption front, something happens. Our social worker left a message today that there is a birthmother looking at profiles next week. She wants to tell us some details to see if we want our profile shown to her. The birthmother wants a pretty open adoption.

It's so frustrating to come home to a message like this. I always get home too late to call and talk to the social worker. Also, I don't think I'll be able to talk to her tomorrow, because I don't think she works on Friday. I think I'm just going to have to email her and ask what her hours are or tell her what hours I am available. It's so hard for me to get ahold of her.

The openness issue is going to be interesting. My husband is much less willing to have openness than me. His view is probably going to be to stick with the semi-open for now with a limited number of visits. Things are still just getting started and he won't agree to much openness so soon after being approved.

I agree with him that we should start out with a semi-open adoption first. If things are progressing well, I am willing to make the adoption more open and to have more visits. It's so hard to agree to certain things when you've never met the person and you know so little about her.

I wonder if this baby is due in April or May. My hubby won't like either month because late April and all of May are the busiest times of the year in the greenhouse business.

Maybe I'll find out more about this situation tomorrow, but I expect that I'll have to wait until Monday. Waiting is so hard.

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers