Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Doctor's Visit
Wednesday, Mar. 26, 2003 @ 5:25 p.m.

My doctor visit was today, and it went very well. I left feeling satisfied.

My doctor started out by reviewing what happened at my last visit in September, (basically that my thyroid test and pelvic ultrasound were normal) then he told me to tell him what I wanted to say. I told him about my two concerns and he addressed them both. He said that the spotting at the end of my cycle (before my period starts) was nothing to worry about. My progesterone is probably at a borderline level at that time. Since my temperatures always stay up until my period, there isn't a problem. He did tell me to get a progesterone test in a week and a half to see if the levels are right and if I have ovulated.

He agreed that my husband should have a semen analysis. I can even bring the sample in when I get my blood tested. My husband will like that since he is really busy this time of the year.

Before I left he took cultures from my cervix to check for any infections that could kill the sperm. I have an abnormality because I have some mucus glands outside the cervix. I've known about this for a few years, and it explains why I have cervical mucus throughout my cycle. The doctor has told me that this area with the glands gets red and irritated. He looked in the microscope to check the mucus sample for infections and the only abnormal thing he saw was more white blood cells than normal. He said this was probably due to the irritation caused by those glands. He saw no signs of infection. He took some other cultures that have to be sent to the lab.

My doctor also felt my uterus and said that it felt normal today. Last time he thought it may have been enlarged and had an ultrasound to check for fibroids. He said that sometimes the uterus seems enlarged because of hard stool in the intestines (oooooh, that's kind of gross!). This could explain why my uterus felt normal today.

Before he left my doctor briefly went through some other tests can may have to be done in time if I am still not pregant (the dye test and laproscopy). He said that if everything was normal with the tests he would see me at my regular annual exam in August. One nice thing he did was code my papers so that my insurance wouldn't think of them as being for infertility (which it wouldn't pay for). He used my problem with the mucus glands as the reason for my visit and the infection tests.

That's my summary. It does seem kind of boring doesn't it? It's hard to leave knowing that the doctor has found nothing wrong. It does give me hope that things may still be fine and that pregancy is just a matter of time. All my husband and I can do now is keep trying, get those tests taken in a couple weeks, and trust the Lord that it will all work out for the best.

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers