Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Making Progress
Monday, Oct. 11, 2004 @ 11:00 p.m.

I've finally made some progress. Saturday I decided to call two of our friends that I had tried to contact by email to ask if they would be references. One friend I left a message on the answering machine telling them that we had sent email and wondered if they had gotten it. For the other friend I talked to the husband and left a message that I had called.

By that evening the first friend had sent us an email saying that they would be a reference for us and would keep up-to-date on the adoption plans by speaking to another good friend that we see more often (who is also a reference for us).

Tonight my other friend called me, and I found out that she never got my email because they now have a different address. She also willingly agreed to be a reference. We hadn't talked in a while, so we had a nice time catching up.

I was in such a good mood after that, that I decided to call my sister and tell her about the adoption plans. I found out that my mom had told her about the adoption meeting we went to. I was happy that she knew a little about it so it wasn't a shock to her.

So, now all we have left to tell is our pastor. That's my husband's job. If he doesn't tell him in the next few days, I will take charge and call the pastor's wife.

There's also still some information I need about my life insurance through work, but I think I will just leave a penciled-in question mark for the name of the company. I don't think it's that important anyway. I don't plan to work once we have a child, and I'll lose that insurance once I stop working. If the agency really wants to know, I'll find out. My principal/friend has been trying to find out more about the insurance in a round-about way, but she isn't getting a very prompt response. For now, the insurance stuff is out of my hands, and I think I'll just leave it that way.

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers