Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Talking and Reading About Adoption
Sunday, Oct. 24, 2004 @ 2:40 p.m.

On Wednesday My student who is adopted talked about her adoption. She is nine years old and was adopted at infancy. It was the first time I had heard her say anything about being adopted. The recess bell had rung and most of the kids were already outside. My adopted student laughingly told a few other kids that for a couple weeks her name was the same as another student's in our class. The girl with the same name said that the adopted girl's mother had told her that she had the name for a week. The adopted girl laughed and said, "Whatever," like it really didn't matter if it was one or two weeks. I then joined the conversation and asked if she knew her old middle name. The adopted girl smiled and said her old first name twice. The other students in the room were a bit confused until the adopted girl explained that her first and middle names were the same because she hadn't had a middle name. I thought it was really cute for her to come up with that.

Eventually all the students had gone outside except my student who is adopted. She was still munching on her carrots and didn't seem in a hurry to go outside. She started telling me about the baby they were going to care for who is being adopted by her grandmother because her mother can't care for her for some reason. The grandmother is going on vacation, so her family will care for the baby while she is away.

I asked if this was the same foster baby that her mom had mentioned to me a couple weeks ago. My student told me that that was a different one who they had thought of adopting until they discovered she had two young siblings. Their family wasn't so sure about adopting three more kids (there are three kids in the family already).

I was telling my husband all these things and I told him that I think the first student I will tell about our decision to adopt a baby will be this student. I think she will appreciate finding out first as she is the one who best understands adoption. We've decided to hold off telling the public about our adoption plans until we are approved as a waiting family. I'm kind of hesitant for the people I see daily and weekly to know about it, but I know they have to be told sometime. I hope I'll be ready when the time comes. I'd like to be approved by Christmas so I can write about it in our Christmas letter.

Friday night we were at a wedding. My husband (with me listening) talked to someone he used to work with and of course the topic came to children. After hearing about his engagement and and his nephew, and talking about our neice and nephew, we were asked if it was about time for us to have a family. We both smiled, nodded our heads, and said, "yeah," like we were thinking about it. It was nice to be able to say that and to know that it really is going to happen. Too bad we hadn't made our adoption plans public yet, then we could have told him our exciting news.

Last night my husband and I went to the book store and I got two adoption-related magazines. I read one last night, and the other one this morning and afternoon. There were some good stories and information in them. My husband stayed home from church this morning as he wasn't feeling well, and he read one of the magazines while I was gone. My husband doesn't seek out adoption information like I do, but if I bring it home, then he reads it. I don't think he's realized yet that it is my sneaky way of getting him educated...hee,hee:) At lunch he told me how he read an article that the home study isn't nearly as scary as people think it is. I think this helped ease some of his fears.

Only four more days until our interview!!!!

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers