Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
My First IUI
Monday, Sept. 01, 2003 @ 9:05 a.m.

I thought the Clomid was drying me up, but I was wrong. Saturday and early Sunday morning I had lots of fertile cm! My temp also went above coverline on Sunday morning, but I haven't decided if the temperature is accurate. I didn't sleep very well that night, and I woke up at 5:00am (lately it's been 7:00). I'm guessing that I ovulated sometime during the night early Sunday, or Sunday morning. Hopefully we caught the egg with the IUI.

My husband and I made it to the fertility clinic for his appointment early in the morning. Then we had four hours to wait until my insemination appointment. We spent most of those four hours reading in the car in the parking lot. My husband napped a little, but I was too nervous, plus I had a headache. We did a little driving around when we got bored and looked for a church in the area to attend, but none looked like one we'd want to attend. We ended up listening to several sermons on the radio.

Finally it was time for my appointment. My doctor came into my room and showed me a test tube with a tinted pink liquid in it. He asked me if it had the correct name and birth date of my husband. He left and the nurse also double checked to make sure the name and birth date were correct. It was good to know how careful they were about making sure I was inseminated with the right man's sperm!! She showed me a label on the test tube that said the count was 4.3 million. "That's good," she said. I was thinking, "No, that's not good. 43 million would be good." But, it was good enough to go ahead with the IUI. I was worried all morning that the IUI would be cancelled. I've heard that most doctors won't do it if it's below 1 million because it rarely results in pregnancy. I prayed often yesterday morning, and God answered my prayers about the count.

The nurse did the IUI, and it went pretty smoothly. She had a little trouble getting the catheter through my cervix and ended up scratching it. I had a little spotting, but it was gone by evening. When she was done she put in a vaginal sponge (sponge in a plastic bag) to keep me from leaking. I had to take it out a few hours later. After the IUI I had to lay on my back with my hips elevated for ten minutes. Finally, we were able to go home. The rest of the day I had a little cramping, but it was hardly noticeable.

If I don't get my period in 12 days I can go to the doctor and get a blood test. My friend who had an IUI before told me that her period came ten days later and was heavier than normal. With my history of spotting 3 or 4 days before my period starts, I'm sure I'll know sooner than 12 days whether I'm pregnant or not.

Missing church turned out much better than we expected. We told my husband's parents Saturday night that we wouldn't be in church the next morning because we had to go somewhere else (we said the name of the city where the clinic is). We expected questions, but they didn't ask us any. When we were at church Sunday evening no one asked why we weren't there in the morning. So we managed to be gone without having to explain why. I even talked with my sister-in-law about her maternity clothes shopping trip and enjoyed it. That was nice!

Now, I'm back to waiting. School starts tomorrow, so at least that will keep me busy and keep my mind distracted. I'm trying to stay positive about everything, but I'm not expecting it to work. I am full of prayer and hope though.

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers