Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
TPR, Our Adoption, and Arranging a Visit with the Birthmother
Friday, Feb. 06, 2009 @ 4:11 p.m.

It's been ages since I last wrote here, but that's because everything is going well.

Baby C is three months now, and we will be getting her baptized on February 15. The court date was originally scheduled for Dec 5, but it was cancelled due to someone being sick. Then it was never rescheduled, and when it was rescheduled, we weren't told right away. The date was rescheduled to December 24. C's birthmother went to court to terminate her rights. The same day the judge signed the papers to start our adoption. The adoption will be complete six months from that date.

We didn't find out about the court proceedings until the following week when I went to the agency to drop off an update for C's birthmom. My case worker was taking the week off to be with family, so I talked to the birthparent counselor. She told me about the court date, and also said that C's birthmom wanted to meet us and to see C, so we would have to arrange a visit in a couple weeks.

Well the couple weeks turned into a month and still we heard nothing. When I wrote our 3 month update I mentioned something about it in my letter. Yesterday we got a call the C's birthmom (J) had called the agency asking to set up a date. A meeting has been scheduled for next week Thursday. J wants to meet with us and also to have some time alone (supervised by her case worker) with C. We were told to bring along our eldest daughter M as well. I wasn't sure about this since I'm a little worried that there will be strong emotions and she may be confused about what's going on. My case worker said that she could take M out of the room if that became a problem. So I think that sounds okay. I think it would be good for J to see C's big sister.

Now I have to do some preparation so M will have an idea of who J is. I have pictures of her to help with the explanation. As much as I have tried to explain to M, who is now just 3 1/2 years old, that babies grown in tummies, she doesn't seem to have any interest. I'm not sure if she will really understand who J is, but we will do our best.

My husband and I are happy with arranging this visit, but my husband doesn't want anyone to tell his mother about it. He thinks it will freak her out and cause her too much worry. I've never quite figured out why his family hides things from her. I told hubby that I wouldn't tell her, but if she asked, I wouldn't lie about it. I have told her that J might want to meet us, and that I would actually like to meet her. I imagine that hubby will tell his mom about the visit after it has happened.

I need to go now, but I will be back later to post some pics of the kids.

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers