Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Spotting Again and Church
Monday, Jul. 07, 2008 @ 4:27 p.m.

I have a tiny bit of spotting today. I think it's nothing to be concerned about. It's brown and very light. I read that women can have spotting during the second missed period. Since today is July 7, and the original spotting started June 8, that would make sense. This spotting is starting out much lighter than the spotting from last month. That seems like a good sign to me, and I don't expect it to last long. Of course I'm still very aware of the possibility of miscarriage. Once we know there is a heart beat I will feel so much better.

Pregnancy symptoms haven't changed too much. Most of the time I'm still slightly nauseous. The urge to pee seems to be gone, so I'm happy about that. I've been reading about pregnant women becoming constipated, but I'm actually finding that I'm becoming more regular. I still have a heightened sense of smell. I am usually aware of the feeling of my uterus stretching. When I don't feel it, I wonder if something is wrong.

Since my daughter is almost three, we've been saying more things to her to prepare her for a baby's arrival (by adoption or birth.) Lately she is more interested in babies, and wants us to get one. One day last week she was pushing her tricycle, and I was telling her how when we get a new baby she can help push the baby in the stroller. She asked me, "Mom, can we get a new baby soon?" It was so cute.

I brought home some pregnancy books from the library last week and she was really interested in the pictures of the baby. I was trying to explain to her how the baby was growing in the mom's tummy and waiting to be born. She liked the book so much that she wanted to sit on the couch and read it by herself. I got out a children's book about adoption that also has drawings of a baby in the mother's uterus and of it being born. I read it to her, and then that night she wanted her daddy to read it to her. I haven't told her that I have a baby in my tummy. It's too early for that. Besides, she hasn't even figured out yet that she was in someone's tummy (and it wasn't mine). It will be interesting to see how she sorts this all out as she gets older.

Yesterday at church the family who does foster care for our adoption agency had a baby with them. I didn't talk to them, but I talked to someone that sat near them. She told me that the baby is in interim care waiting to see if he will be adopted or be with his birth family. I was told that the baby already had an adoptive family selected. I was sad that it wasn't us. I decided it would be best for my sanity if I didn't find out too much information about the whole situation. The less I know, the better. I know this baby boy is not the one God has chosen for our family, but it was hard to see a beautiful baby like that going to someone else when we have waited for what seems like so long.

There was also an infant baptism at church yesterday morning. I think it would have been a really tough one for me if I hadn't known I was pregnant. Another interesting thing is that in the evening service the minister prayed for families desiring more children. The last time he prayed this was on Father's Day. At that time I didn't know I was pregnant. God has answered that prayer from last month. He's given us another child. I'm not sure how long she or he will be with us, but just being pregnant is a wonderful blessing.

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers