Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Nurse Appointment, Ultrasound, & Lab Work
Thursday, Jul. 10, 2008 @ 3:16 p.m.

This morning I went in the the OB office to meet with a nurse. Afterwards I was sent to get lab work done at a different location.

The nurse was wonderful. I enjoyed talking to her. Because of my spotting and unknown cycle information, she suggested an ultrasound, and I agreed.

The technician was able to perform the ultrasound right away. First she tried an external ultrasound, but she told me the baby was too small to see that way, so she would have to do an internal one. The internal ultrasound revealed a yolk sack and a baby. The baby only measures 5 weeks and 3 or 4 days. I can't remember exactly how many days, with a due date in early March. I was too disappointed and in shock to put much effort into memorizing it. I thought I was at least 7 weeks. The baby was too small to be able to detect a heart beat, but the technician thought it looked as though one was just beginning to develop. I was given a printout with two images of the tiny baby. It's only about 2 millimeters right now.

It was immediately decided that after my bloodwork today I would need to return to the lab on Saturday to have another blood test. They told me I could call Saturday and probably get the results.

I headed to the lab for urine and blood tests, and went home confused, worried, and disappointed.

It seems there are only two options. Either the baby is as old as he/she appears and is healthy, or it is as old as I think it should be and things are progressing toward a miscarriage.

If I really am only 5.5 weeks along, my conception date would be June 15 or 16. That would be 8 days after I first started spotting, which to me sounds really weird. Why would I spot after my period, but before ovulating? It would also mean delayed ovulation (like on day 19 at the earliest), since when I first started spotting it had been at least 6 days since my period ended. As unlikely as it is, it is biologically possible because we did BD the night of the 14th, and I got the positive pregnancy test 14 days later.

After telling Hubby the news and explaining how the baby looked fine in all appearances but that I am worried because the dates don't match up, he said it's a good thing we haven't told our adoption case worker yet. At least if this whole thing ends up with no baby, we still have an adoption in progress.

There's nothing more to do now than to wait and pray.

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers