Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Choosing a Dr. & Scheduling Appointments
Monday, Jun. 30, 2008 @ 11:02 p.m.

My previous gynecologist retired several years ago, and after going through fertility treatments, I never felt the desire to return. My primary care physician reminded me that I really should go back when I saw him for my adoption physical in February. Anyway, I decided that I didn't want to get an OBGYN through that clinic anyway because it is associated with a hospital that is farther away than another one in which I would prefer to give birth.

The first thing I did this morning was to figure out which OBGYN's are in our insurance network. I looked online and made a couple phone calls. I discovered that the midwife used by many women I know is covered by my insurance, so I decided to use her since I know many would recommend her to me.

The office wanted to schedule two appointments for me. One at 6-7 weeks with just a nurse for an hour long pregnancy class followed by half an hour of lab work, and another one for a consultation with the midwife. Since the date of my last period is unknown, she picked a day from the range that I gave, and chose May 15 which puts me at 6 weeks and some odd days (which I know was NOT when I had my period. It was either a few days before or after that date). Until I have a better idea, I will be using that date on my pregnancy ticker, even though I know it is wrong.

Apparently the office is short a nurse right now, so they were unable to get me scheduled to see one until during my vacation July 16-30. They scheduled one for July 31. They scheduled me to see the midwife on August 5. I was then switched to the nurse's phone line so I could ask any questions I had. I left a message with questions about what antihistamine I can safely take for my seasonal allergies and also about prenatal vitamins (something I hadn't thought about until the scheduling woman mentioned it).

The scheduling woman called me later that morning saying that they would really like me to see the nurse earlier and they wanted to confirm my travel dates so they could fit me in earlier. She said otherwise I would already be at 11 weeks, and that just seemed too long to wait.

The nurse called in the afternoon and told me a few allergy medications I could take and suggested an over-the-counter prenatal vitamin to take. She said that she really wanted me to come in before my vacation, and that she would take a closer look at the schedule tomorrow morning to see if she could fit me in sometime when a doctor was gone doing a surgery. During a time like that there would be a nurse free to see me. She made sure it would be fine for her to call me tomorrow morning. I'm glad she was sensitive about this. I'll be at home, but I know if I was at work I wouldn't want them calling me there!

So far I have been very impressed with this women's health clinic. They have been very accomodating and helpful.

My friend who was planning to adopt from China and ended up getting pregnant instead called me today to invite us over for the 4th of July (Independence Day). She asked about how our adoption was going, and I gave her the news I got the last time I talked to our case worker. I wanted to tell her what was really happening, but we've decided to wait until after I go to the doctor to tell people, and even then we plan to tell our family before our friends.

Tonight Hubby and I did a little joking around about how we would tell people to make the surprise more suspenseful. We also discussed how we expect we will want adopt again after giving birth to this child. We can't imagine another pregnancy happening again. Hubby also mentioned how this pregnancy must have been God's answer as to why we have been waiting so long (in our eyes) to adopt again. It's true. We weren't able to see the future, but God has had a plan all along. I think it's a pretty good one.

Okay, one last thing about pregnancy symptoms. The weird feeling in my abdomen sometimes does make me feel a little ill. It's not that bad, but there are times when I really don't feel like eating. Once I start eating though, I feel okay, and don't get any sicker. I can handle that, but if it gets worse, I will deal with it. It's all worth it for a baby.

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers