Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Starting to Feel Like It's Really Real
Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 @ 3:22 p.m.

I'm beginning to accept the fact that this has really happening, and I'm starting to notice pregnancy symptoms that I didn't see before.

Yesterday and today I noticed that I was frequently feeling the urge to pee. Sometimes I didn't even need to pee, but the urge was there. Sometimes I just tried to ignore it, since that is what I often do. I have a large bladder and can survive most of the day without needing to use the bathroom.

That reminds me of my laparascopy several years ago. I couldn't leave the hospital until I peed, but I didn't realize that. I was planning to wait until we got home, so when the nurses asked me if I needed to go, I'd say no. I finally went when I discovered that the reason they weren't discharging me was because they needed me to pee first!

I've had mild cramping and soreness in the back of my pelvic bone at least since Friday. Friday morning at teacher's devotions during VBS I sat down and someone asked if my back was sore from the way I sat down. I said that it didn't hurt, but my stomach did. I thought that maybe it was from carrying my 30 lb. daughter. I had the mild cramping yesterday too, but I thought it was just the butterflies in my stomach from all the excitement. I'm calmed down now, but they are still there. I can hardly call them cramps though, more like a mild soreness that you constantly feel. I read on the Mayo Clinic web site that these cramps are normal for some women. I'm thankful for that. I haven't had any spotting the last several days, so I'm not worried.

I'm noticing a heightened awareness of smells, especially yesterday. So far no nausea, but that usually doesn't happen until a little bit later.

The tiredness I've experience got worse each day last week. I was spending time on the computer in the afternoon while my daughter napped, and I found myself nodding off. I thought it was due to getting up earlier than normal to teach VBS. However, I was going to bed earlier, so that explanation didn't make much sense. Now it makes sense!

Today I also have a mild headache. I haven't had one lately, but they aren't uncommon for me, so it may not necessarily be pregnancy related.

I've been looking at the calendar again, and thinking that my period could have started anytime between May 12 and May 23. I don't think it can be any later than that because the spotting started June 8 (16 days after May 23). The earliest date, May 12, would mean that I started spotting on day 27 of my cycle, when my period would typically begin. So that means I am somewhere between 5 weeks, 2 days and 6 weeks, 6 days pregnant. I guess I'll have to wait for a doctor's visit to find out, but I'm leaning toward 6 weeks, somewhere in the middle.

I've been concerned that our male factor infertility ("bad sperm")might make us more likely to suffer from a miscarriage. But I've discovered that the chance for miscarriage is the same as for any other pregnancy. That's good for me, and making me feel a little more at peace. I feel like I only have one shot at this pregnancy thing, and I'd like it to last.

I was doing some looking around, wondering what the odds were for a couple with a very low sperm count to conceive. I didn't find any answers but I did find this quote in several places online which applies to our situation: "...most doctors have had the experience of a man with a very low sperm count (as little as 2-5 million per ml) fathering a pregnancy on his own, with no treatment."

Here's the results from our semen analysis at the RE nearly five years ago:
Count - 3.6 million per mL (>20 is normal)
Motility - 32% (>50% is normal)
Morphology - 2% (>12% is normal)

Also, when we did our 6 IUI's our post-washed counts were 4.3, 4.9, 2.0, 4.4,, 5.3, and 2.4 million per mL respectively. So you can see that this quote really fits my situation

I always knew it was possible, unlikely, but possible. Then I'd always follow up with the statement that if it did happen, it would probably never happen again. I find myself wondering what will we do after this baby. I want at least three kids. Will any woman want us to adopt her baby so soon after we have birthed a biological child? I guess we would just have to make it very clear how unlikely the pregnancy was in the first place.

I'm thinking about this pregnancy almost all the time. I wish I could tell the world, but instead I plan who and how I will tell everyone. It will be very fun !

I also am scared about the whole pregnancy and delivery thing. Who cares about parenting, I've already done that! Soon the people whom I have given baby and parenting advice will be giving me advice on pregnancy and delivery. Weird!

I'm getting excited about cloth diapering again, but a little concerned about whether I will breastfeed or not. Well, there's lots of time to think about that, so I will dwell on that later!

I think I've written down most of the many thoughts floating around today. The last thing I want to say is that the night before I took the pregnancy test I had a dream that I took the test and was unable to get a result (or maybe I did and it was negative). I don't know, but when I woke up and found it was a dream, I was relieved!

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers