Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Home Visit, Twins?, and Last Midwife Appointment
Tuesday, Oct. 14, 2008 @ 2:41 p.m.

This morning we had a home visit with our new adoption case worker to update our home study. I can't believe we've now been waiting two years. It was always in the back of my mind that it might happen, but I really didn't expect it too take so long.

I think she asked us three times how we were handling the wait. She said that she didn't have any suggestions for us except to get our profile up on the internet. I think we will probably be doing that.

We had a nice visit with her, and I think we will work well together. She told us that our profile had recently been shown for a woman expecting twins that is working with another office. She was looking for a stay-at-home mom and a family without children. Apparently she was shown many profiles and narrowed it down considerably. I thought our case worker said to three or four. I guess having children already isn't a big issue to the expectant mother since we are among the few that she is still considering. The babies aren't due until February or March, so there is still a long ways to go and a lot that can happen. This is the first time we have been shown for twins, so it is kind of interesting to think about what life would be like with multiples.

There's a waiting families meeting coming up this month as well as one next month. We haven't been to one in a very long time. I'm not sure yet if we will go to both or just one.

My final midwife appointment last month went well. Even though my cycles were not back to normal yet, she seemed to think that everything was okay. She told me to call her right away if I ever find out I'm pregnant, even if it's the weekend, so I can get my hormone levels checked. She went ahead and did all the things she does at a regular annual exam, so I don't have to go back until next year.

I'm now starting my third cycle since the miscarriage. My first two periods were very heavy with clots and lasted longer than normal. I don't think I ovulated in either of the first two cycles. The first cycle was only 22 days long with a 12 day period(6 days bleeding, 6 days spotting). The second cycle was 25 days, which is a pretty normal length for me.

I'm hoping that this cycle will be the one that will mark the beginning of a normal cycle. I'm so ready to be back to normal. I'm also glad that I am not TTC because two months of not ovulating would have been very frustrating.

My former principal and current friend is now pregnant with her second child. I'm very happy for her, especially since she has suffered two losses the last year (an etopic pregnancy & a miscarriage). I brought home my daughter just a few months after she told me she was pregnant, and our kids are 6 months apart. It would be fun if our next kids are close in age.

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers