Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Weekend Activities
Sunday, Sept. 19, 2004 @ 3:22 p.m.

Friday my principal/friend had to leave during school hours for her ultrasound. I took over recess duty for her. It ended up taking her longer than expected because she had to wait to get a trigger shot. It was only day 11 for her, but her eggs were already big enough. Fertiity drugs are so frustrating and unpredictable.

Friday evening was a kick-off party for the church's boys' and girls' clubs. I'm a counselor for the girls, so I came along and brought my husband. The party was at a family's home. On the way there we passed the adoption agency's new building, and I pointed it out to my husband. I figured out that it takes about 12 minutes to get there from our house.

The party was mostly couples with upper elementary children. There were a few other adults of other ages that are leaders. My husband was helping with the grilling, so I decided to wait until he was ready and eat with him. I said I didn't want to eat without him. When we were getting our food I made a comment that it was date night, so I wanted to eat with my husband. One father made a comment that it wasn't date night with the kids around. I said that Friday we always go out for dinner, so I wanted to eat with my husband since it was date night for us.

I think this comment bothered my husband. When we were going home, he mentioned it. I guess the part that hurts is thinking that we can't have a "real" date night (according to this father) because we don't have kids to get away from.

I was thankful that I ate with my husband, because afterwards the women and men segregrated and I didn't see much of my husband until it was time to go home.

The best part about the evening was that there was no one my age for me to compare myself to. My sister-in-law could have come since her husband is a leader. But since my niece was sick, she stayed home. There was only one baby, and the other children were four years old or older. It was nice to spend time with women, not women with infants and toddlers.

One more week until the adoption information meeting! Hooray! I've been thinking often about our profile, and wondering if I'll have enough interesting pictures for it. I think it will be fun to put it together.

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers