Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Watching a Friend Deal with Infertility
Saturday, Sept. 11, 2004 @ 3:55 p.m.

My principal/friend started talking to me yesterday about her dealings with the RE's office. She had a question about when to schedule an ultrasound, so she gave me an update of all she had been going through during the summer.

I discovered that she is now going to the RE's office where I was a patient. My friend has also had difficulties dealing with the resident woman that brought me troubles. This woman doesn't know much information and can never seem to answer our questions. My friend said that she was going to educate herself about infertility treatments by looking things up on the Internet just as I had.

She has her first IUI planned in the next couple weeks, so I hope it goes well. She's worried about getting multiples, but after a couple months on Clomid with no results, she's ready for the IUI. Getting pregnant with multiples was something my husband and I never had to worry about as our odds of success were so low.

I told my friend about my experiences over the summer. We realized that around the 4th of July was when we both were having trouble with the resident woman. It felt good to be able to tell her that I'm done with fertility treatments and now looking into adoption. She observed how she's a year behind me, as a year ago I was having my first IUI.

What is hard for me right now is that I want her to get pregnant and I don't. I don't want her to deal with all I had to deal with, but I also don't want her to get pregnant and leave the school. Her being pregnant wouldn't bother me (I know what she has gone through and that she wouldn't be insensitive to me), but her leaving the school would be hard. I don't want to be the only married person without children at work. If she does leave the school, I may seriously consider not signing a new contract.

It's so easy to say what I may do in the future, but I really can't know until the future becomes the present. I must pray for my friend and her husband. They are just beginning to realize how much stressful it is to deal with doctors than to try to get pregnant on your own.

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers