Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Profile Showings, Birth Family, and Confusing Cycle
Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008 @ 12:24 a.m.

Last week I was sorting through some papers and ran across the list of meetings offered by our adoption agency. There was on tentatively scheduled for the end of May, but I had never heard of it actually happening. I decided to call about that, but also to get the latest information. I had been meaning to call for a while, and it was a day when our social worker is in the office.

She told me that the waiting families meeting hadn't been scheduled yet, so we hadn't missed it. She looked at our "profile log" (the first time I ever remember hearing that term) and said that our profile was shown twice in March and twice in May. She didn't need to call about all of them since there wasn't anything that didn't match our "openness questionnaire."

She said that recently they have been seeing about the same amount of pregnant women, but that a smaller percentage are choosing adoption. Some have been choosing families earlier in pregnancy, then changing their minds later.

I received our agency's information about 2007, and our branch had 12 infant adoptions. There were 9 infants placed in interim care, but only 6 infants were placed for adoption as a result of pregnancy counseling.

The result of this is that there are now more waiting families. Right now there are 14. Our social worker suggested that we consider putting our profile online. Apparently 15% of our agency's adoptions were families selected online, and the percentage increases each year. Hubby thinks it might be a good option. I think we will probably do it, it will just take a little bit to shorten our profile and pick out which three pictures to post. I think I'll wait until after our vacation in July.

In July we go to visit my sister and to help her clean out the contents of our parent's home. I've been dreading this the last year. And it has seemed to me at times that it would be best for us to adopt a baby after this job is done. It seems like that is what God thinks is best too, and His ways are always the best. I think I'll start praying for an August or September baby.

I've been continuing my occasional visits to the internet pages of my daughter's birth family. There's not much new with her birthmom's sister. Her life seems to consist of looking for apartments and getting a car. Once she talked about getting a ring, so I wonder if she is engaged. I think she just graduated from high school.

There was a little drama in the life of my daughter's birth father's wife. One day last month she wrote that she is now single and deleted almost every reference to her husband. I was glad that I saved all her blog entries from when she was dating her future husband. Last week she announced that she was back home with her husband.

My daughter is almost three years old! I really can't believe how fast time has flown by. Two years ago on June 8 her adoption was confirmed.

My friend and former principal has had a hard time lately too with having a second child. I think I wrote about her tubal pregnancy late last year. Then last month someone told me that they thought she looked pregnant. I emailed her, and she told me that she was pregnant, but that the baby was small and had a weak heartbeat. The doctor said that a miscarriage was imminent.

When I saw her about two weeks after that she said she was no longer showing, and that it appeared that the doctor was right. It appears that both of us will not have our second child until after our first is three. We both had liked the idea of having a two-year-old when our second was born. At least we are both going through this together, each in our own different way. I hope things turn for the better soon.

The last thing I'd like to write about is my confusion over my cycle. I rarely keep track of it any more, and now I'm kicking myself. I thought I would be getting my period early this week, but it's not here. The thing is I really don't know when my last period was. It was a few weeks ago, but I'm not sure exactly how long ago it was. I started spotting early last week. It lasted about 5-6 days like it normally does right before I get my period, then the spotting stopped. The spotting has been gone for 3 days now. Now I do on occasion have spotting mid-cycle, so that is what I'm thinking it is. I have thought about taking my temp tomorrow morning to see if I have ovulated yet. Whatever it is, I won't be taking any pregnancy test. I'm going to wait it out and assume it's just some wacky cycle.

That's it for now. Hopefully it won't be another couple months before I have news to report!

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers