Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
A Loss and a Prayer
Thursday, Mar. 13, 2008 @ 1:00 a.m.

One of the pregnant people I know had a miscarriage. This pregnancy was not a planned one, but I'm sure it is just as difficult to deal with. I was a little saddened for myself that this couple was expecting. Their son just had his birthday last month. I hope they handle this loss okay.

No news yet about my recent profile showing. I've told a few close friends and my siblings, but no one else. To my knowledge my husband hasn't told his family. I think the idea of possibly having a very open adoption might me a little too much for them. I'm hopeful for this situation. I have no problems with it working out for us, but it would be interesting to see how my mother-in-law would handle it. I think we would have to find a way for her to understand that it isn't as bad of a situation as she fears it to be. I slowly try to educate her, but I'm not sure how much progress has been made. She can be a stubborn woman when it comes to her ideas and views about things.

Each day I think of the expectant couple making this big decision. I wonder what they are doing. Are they looking at profiles now? Have they seen ours? How much time will it take for them to decide? Will they meet with more than one potential adoptive family? What are they really looking for? Will they find anything special about us that will make us stand out?

After I get into bed each night I say a special prayer for them.

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers